My addiction<3

Ohh, you’re so kind to me. So dangerous yet so kind.

My kryptonite, how could I not fall for you?
Intelligent as you are; yet you always fool around.
You walk around looking all confident, and so tough with that body you worked so hard to build,
Yet when you touch my lips and look at me with those eyes,
I could sense how soft hearted you truly are.

In this fast moving world, you paid no attention to what others are doing
You took your time, slowly… and so tenderly, you kissed my lips.
Time stopped then.
I, who were taught to be more efficient, to do things faster, had forgotten what life is all about…
And with one kiss, you put life in me.

I remember our first kiss, you took me by surprise. We weren’t in sync then. I remember I couldn’t breathe. So when you finally stop kissing me, I hugged you to hide away my shame. But you lifted my chin, and told me it was cute. “You had to comment”, I thought but secretly, I liked that he paid attention.

It is so weird, I don’t remember when I started falling for you. I remember looking forward to meeting you – for I love our conversations. Then one day, I notice myself holding on to your hands, telling you not to go, even if it’s just for a second. You looked at me, with that look you always have on your face, one that looks worried but happy, and tell me “it’s just for a while”. That was the second I realised my feelings for you wasn’t as simple as friends.

Things has changed since then. But my feelings for you have gotten stronger day by day. I sometimes call it “love” when I talk to myself, but I know it is actually more of an addiction, for I suffer withdrawal without you by my side.

And i think to myself: if an addiction feels that closely to love, wouldn’t it be better for couples to be addicted to each other rather than to love each other? After all, like Margaret Atwood said, love is wavering. On the other hand, Addiction, as Emily Thorne from Revenge mention:
Addiction, an impulse that, once indulged, is impossible to pacify. Even when starved, the hunger survives.

An addiction, when compared to love, seemed more enduring…and I, for one, wouldn’t mind staying with my drug for the rest of my life.

Leave a Reply

