Unrequited Love: Uncertainty about the future

I have always been insecure about my relationships with people. This is partly due to my harsh childhood. Recently, I have faced insecurity about an unrequited love. If he were my kryptonite, the decisions would be clear. I had to get rid of him from my life. However, this guy was not my kryptonite. In fact, he was a very valuable friend to me whom I wish to keep for as long as possible. This makes decisions hard for me. Should I keep the friendship or should I risk my heart by strengthening the friendship despite feeling the way I do and knowing that the probability of me ending up heartbroken was higher? The question came to me instinctively as a means of protecting myself. That’s when I realise I am insecure with uncertainty.

So, I went to search up some good quotes on insecurity and here they are:

The task we must set for ourselves is not to feel secure, but to be able to tolerate insecurity.

– Erich Fromm

I never have been insecure, because I see what a waste it is. I know there is a solution to insecurity. I don’t tend to be thrown by problems that don’t have solutions. And insecurity has a wealth of alternatives.

– Drew Barrymore
I love these quotes because it says “Yes, the future is filled with uncertainties. But guess what? That’s what makes life fun! If life is set out for you, you can’t do much and have to stick to a rigid lifestyle. Insecurity has a wealth of alternatives. It could go this way or that way” and someone told me this “Risks means that your returns, either positive or negative, will be a lot higher” If things turn out right, then the happiness may double or triple. If things went the other way, I may be filled with great pain. But pain doesn’t kill us. At the times of misfortune, that’s when we grow the most! So either way, it’s a win-win situation! So, I decided to take the risks of strengthening the friendship.
In addition to that, I have looked for quotes regarding unrequited love and these I love:
“Because, if you could love someone, and keep loving them, without being loved back . . . then that love had to be real. It hurt too much to be anything else.”
― Sarah Cross, Kill Me Softly
“Let no one who loves be called altogether unhappy. Even love unreturned has its rainbow.”
― J.M. Barrie, The Little Minister

“I have to admit, an unrequited love is so much better than a real one. I mean, it’s perfect… As long as something is never even started, you never have to worry about it ending. It has endless potential.”
― Sarah Dessen, The Truth About Forever

“Unrequited love is the only possible way to give yourself to another without being held in indentured servitude.”
― Bauvard, Some Inspiration for the Overenthusiastic

Anyone who has ever loved someone who does not love you back deeply will understand how love unreturned has its rainbow. This is partly due to this: Unrequited love is the only possible way to give yourself to another without being held in indentured servitude. Unrequited love is when you can truly be yourself and love someone for who they are completely. I think these two elements are what a relationship really needs. This stresses independence within the relationships which is really important as it says you are not together because you needed each other. You are together because you chose to be together! This quote, “I have to admit, an unrequited love is so much better than a real one. I mean, it’s perfect… As long as something is never even started, you never have to worry about it ending. It has endless potential” by Sarah Dessen is perfect because it ties it back to the idea of limitless potential, and as we mentioned earlier, a greater risk yields larger returns or loss.

Leave a Reply

